Names Of 19 Generals And 42 Other Senior Officers Of Armed Forces Have Been Included For Election


Report gathered that the Independent National Electoral Commission has included 19 military Generals and 42 other senior officers from the Armed Forces in its 428-man Inter-agency Consultative Committee on Election Security.

The ICCES was established by INEC to review, coordinate and manage security during the forthcoming elections in the country.

Other members of the ICCES, according to INEC, are the Police Force, Department of State Security, Nigeria Security and Civil Defence Corps, National Drug Law and Enforcement Agency, National Youth Service Corps, National Intelligence Agency, Nigeria Prisons, Nigeria Customs Service and Nigeria Immigration Service.

An INEC document titled: “Information Kit for 2015 General Elections,” made available to reporters, named the Generals to include Brig.-Gen. Lamidi Adeosun, who is currently the General Officer Commanding, 7 Division of Nigerian Army in Borno State, and who during the week led the military to recapture Bama, the second largest city in Borno State; Commodore O. Odumu; Commodore F.F. Ogu; Air Commodore E. F. Golit; Brig.-Gen J.E.K.Myam; Air Commodore Charles Oghomiven and Brig.-Gen. J.S Malu.

Others are Brig.-Gen. A. A. Nani; Air Vice Marshall S. N. Kudu; Brig.-Gen. A.G. Adeyemi; Brig.-Gen. Osasogie Uzamere; Air Commodore A. A. Jekennu; and Commodore Godwin Ochai.

Maj.-Gen. Y. M. Abubakar; Commodore S. A. Muhammed; Brig.-Gen. A.A. Momoh; and Air Commodore Omoyungbo are also among the Generals in the INEC security committees.

The remaining 42 military officers include colonels, lt colonels, navy captains, captains and majors.

The electoral body stated in the document that the 428 members of ICCES are divided among the 36 states and the FCT.

It said ICCES in Akwa-Ibom, Benue, Cross River, Gombe, Jigawa, Lagos, Niger, Ogun and Osun states are made up of 11 members each. Edo, Ekiti, Enugu, Kaduna, Kwara have a 10-man ICCES respectively.

While 13-man ICCES will be deployed in Bauchi, Kogi and Nasarawa states each; a 14-man crack committee will handle security in each of Bayelsa, Delta, Kebbi and Ondo states.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.