Sokoto, Kebbi, Zamfara Pledge Support For Saraki over Senate presidency

Indications emerged at the weekend that senators from Sokoto, Zamfara and Kebbi states have resolved to vote for the former governor of Kwara State and leading aspirant in the race for senate presidency, Dr. Bukola Saraki.

This development indicate that Saraki’s support base has now been extended to the Northwest, Southeast, South South, Southwest, North Central and North East with more than 70 senators across the political parties rooting for him as the next senate president.

The lawmakers from the North West, it was gathered arrived at the decision to back Saraki as president of the eighth Senate during a meeting held in Sokoto on Thursday with all the newly elected and returning senators to the eighth Senate.

Meanwhile, a group of politicians and intelligentsia of northern ethnic minorities’ extraction, at the weekend called on the All Progressives Congress (APC) and its senators-elect to concede the Senate Presidency Senators Ahmed Lawan / George Akume.

The group which met in Kaduna to “consider the fate of minorities in the North under the new dispensation” urged the party to take cognisance of the contributions of the minorities in the three geo-political zones of the north to the electoral successes recorded at the national and state elections and reward “us by conceding theSenate Presidency slot to Senators Ahmad Lawan and George Akume”

The group said, “It become incumbent on the new administration, the party in power and all senators-elect to support Ahmad Lawan from the Bade minority ethnic group of the north –east state of Yobe to become the Senate President and George Akume of the Tiv minority tribe of the north-central state of Benue to be the Deputy Senate President.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.