Iheanacho, Musa and Mikel miss out of African Player of the Year award

The out-of-favour Chelsea midfielder will not win a first African Footballer of the Year award in 2016, with Aubameyang, Mahrez and Mane in the running.


The Confederation of African Football has announced the top five shortlists for the 2016 African Player of the Year with Kelechi Iheanacho, Ahmed Musa and John Obi Mikel not making the cut.

[pro_ad_display_adzone id=”60438″]

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Riyad Mahrez, Sadio Mane, Mohammed Salah and Islam Slimani made the top five decided by votes from the members of the Caf Media Committee, Caf Technical & Development Committee and half of the 20-member panel of experts.

Borussia Dortmund striker Aubameyang won the accolade for 2015 after a sizzling start to the previous season for the Bundesliga club.

In the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) category, Dennis Onyango, Hlompho Kekana, Keegan Dolly and Khama Billiat from the 2016 African Champions League winning side, Mamelodi Sundowns made the mark with T.P Mazembe’s Rainford Kabala completing the list.

The winners will be decided by votes from the head coaches and Technical Directors of the National Associations affiliated to Caf.

The Glo/Caf awards gala nite will take place on Thursday, January 5, 2017 at the International Conference Centre, Abuja, Nigeria.

African Player of the Year
Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Borrusia Dortmund)
Riyad Mahrez (Algeria & Leicester City)
Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma)
Islam Slimani (Algeria & Leicester City)
African Player of the Year (Based in Africa)

Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns & Zimbabwe)
Keegan Dolly (Mamelodi Sundowns & South Africa)
Rainford Kalaba (TP Mazembe & Zambia)
Hlompho Kekana (Mamelodi Sundowns & South Africa)
Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns & Uganda)


1 Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.