Nico Rosberg pips Lewis Hamilton to the F1 world title

Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton might be team-mates – but they definitely didn’t look like it after the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

ABU DHABI, UNITED ARAB EMIRATES - NOVEMBER 27: Nico Rosberg of Germany and Mercedes GP celebrates after finishing second and winning the World Drivers Championship during the Abu Dhabi Formula One Grand Prix at Yas Marina Circuit on November 27, 2016 in Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates. (Photo by Clive Mason/Getty Images)

Frosty scenes after Nico Rosberg pips Lewis Hamilton to the F1 world title

Heading into the final race of the season the Mercedes drivers were competing for the F1 world title with Rosberg needing to finish on the podium to claim his maiden championship.

He managed that, finishing second behind Hamilton, but not with any help from his team-mate.

Hamilton defied team orders and deliberately slowed down to back his team-mate into Max Verstappen and Sebastian Vettel. The ploy failed, but Rosberg will rightly feel unhappy with Hamilton.

Immediately after the race the pair didn’t speak, awkwardly doing their best to avoid each other as they were weighed and re-hydrated.

Hamilton did eventually congratulate Rosberg. Being interviewed on the podium by David Coultard, the three-time world champion thanked his team and the fans before eventually getting round to his team-mate.

‘And a big congratulations to Nico Rosberg,’ he said.

The pair then shook hands and briefly embraced.

Rosberg said it was a tough finish to the race, but didn’t call out his team-mate’s shady tactics.

‘That was definitely not the most enjoyable race I’ve ever had,’ said the German. ‘Really not very enjoyable those last laps.’

2016 final driver standings

  1. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Mercedes 385
  2. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) Mercedes 380
  3. Daniel Ricciardo (Australia) Red Bull 256
  4. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Ferrari 212
  5. Max Verstappen (Netherlands) Red Bull 204
  6. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 186
  7. Sergio Perez (Mexico) Force India 101
  8. Valtteri Bottas (Finland) Williams 85
  9. Nico Huelkenberg (Germany) Force India 72
  10. Fernando Alonso (Spain) McLaren 54
  11. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Williams 53
  12. Carlos Sainz Jr (Spain) Toro Rosso 46
  13. Romain Grosjean (France) Haas 29
  14. Daniil Kvyat (Russia) Toro Rosso 25
  15. Jenson Button (Britain) McLaren 21
  16. Kevin Magnussen (Denmark) Renault 7
  17. Felipe Nasr (Brazil) Sauber 2
  18. Jolyon Palmer (Britain) Renault 1
  19. Pascal Wehrlein (Germany) Manor 1
  20. Stoffel Vandoorne (Belgium) McLaren 1
  21. Esteban Gutierrez (Mexico) Haas 0
  22. Marcus Ericsson (Sweden) Sauber 0
  23. Esteban Ocon (France) Manor 0
  24. Rio Haryanto (Indonesia) Manor 0


1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.