Ondo Elections: Oke wins at his ward and unit in a landslide victory

Chief Olusola Oke, candidate of the Alliance for Democracy (AD) in the Ondo State Governorship Election, performed the same feat like his counterparts in the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, by winning in his own ward and polling unit.


Oke who voted yesterday at Unit 005, Ugbo Ward 3, at his Ilowo hometown in the Ilaje Council Area of the state, won at his polling unit with a total of 316 votes to defeat the candidate of the APC, Rotimi Akeredolu, who polled 17 votes, while Eyitayo Jegede, candidate of the ruling PDP scored zero.

Speaking earlier after casting his vote, Oke expressed satisfaction with voters’ turn out which he noted was indicative of their resolve for real change.

He said: “Our people are coming out in large numbers to make a statement that they are taking their destiny in their own hands. They are out to vote against the neglect that this area had suffered in the last eight years a development, which suddenly made others aliens in the state.

“The people are looking forward with confidence and hope that one of them, who shares their experience, knows their suffering and pain, and who can redress the neglect by bringing about the much needed real change becomes governor of the state.”

Oke lauded the peaceful atmosphere and the security arrangement in his area and thanked his people for their resilience and patience despite the initial difficulty recorded with the Card Reader.

Sunday Sun however gathered that the AD candidate may not have a comfortable lead in his Ondo South senatorial district with 6 local council Areas, as he was being threatened by the APC candidate. Sunday Sun gathered that the APC candidate was leading in Irele, Odigbo, Ile Oluji, Oke-Igbo, Okitipupa and one ward in the Ijaw speaking area called Ukparama.

Another major upset in yesterday’s election was the defeat of the Secretary to the State Government, Dr Aderotimi Adelola, who lost his own unit to APC at Unit 007 Ayesan Ward, located at St Peter Pry School Araromi Obu, Odigbo Local Govt.

In the unit, APC polled 113 votes, AD 79, while PDP scored 73 votes


1 Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.