18 Commissioners, 2 special advisers confirmed in Akwa Ibom

18 Commissioner Nominees and two Special Advisers as nominated by Governor Udom Emmanuel have been confirmed by the Akwa Ibom House of Assembly.


The nominees were confirmed on Wednesday following their screening by the Committee of the Whole.

The House Leader, Udo Akpan, moved a motion for their confirmation and Aniekan Bassey seconded the motion.

The new commissioners are Paul Udofia, Ime Ekpo, Dr. Nse Essien, Prof. Eno Ikpe, Idoroenyin Udo and Nsikan Nkan.

The others are Uduak Udoinyang, Charles Udo, Orman Esin, Dr. Iniobong Essien, Dr. Dominic Ukpong, Uwemidimo Nwoko and Victor Antai.

The rest are Monday Uko, Dr. Glory Edet, Udoh Ekpenyong, Akan Okon as well as Ephraim Inyang.

The new Special Advisers are Ekong Sampson and Ekemini Umoh.

The Speaker of the House, Onofiok Luke, said the nominees during the screening exhibited high level of intelligence and responsibility.

Luke therefore urged the commissioners-designate to help the governor in his endeavour to build a strong state.

He noted that the times demanded some sacrifice from all the new commissioners.

The Speaker also urged them to work with the permanent secretaries for effective service delivery to the people.

Emmanuel dissolved the former State Executive Council on October 15.

The governor forwarded the list of 18 nominees and two special advisers on November 25, made up of nine old executive members and 11 new ones to the assembly for confirmation.


1 Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.