Why Senate confirmed only 15 out of 27 REC nominees

Why Senate confirmed only 15 out of 27 REC nominees

Facts have emerged on why the Senate confirmed 15 out of the 27 Independent National Electoral Commission Resident Electoral Commissioners ‎submitted for confirmation by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Although there are petitions against some of the RECs, which the Senate Committee is currently treating, it was gathered that the others are undergoing screening.

This runs contrary to the story making the rounds that the Senate has decided to drop 12 of them.

The source explained that the committee decided to split the screening into two batches.

It was those nominees in Batch ‘A’ that were submitted for confirmation to the Senate on Thursday.

The Batch ‘B’ will be submitted next week for confirmation, it was gathered.

‎Those confirmed on Thursday were‎‎ Prof. Godswill Obioma (Abia), James Apam ‎(Benue), Nwachukwu Orji (Ebonyi), IIoh Chuks (Enugu), Nentawe Yilwatda (Plateau), Umar Ibrahim (Taraba), Emeka Joseph (Imo), Obo Effanga (Cross Rivers).

Others were Briyai Frankland (Bayelsa) Ibrahim Abdulahi‎ (Adamawa), Agboke Olaleke (Ogun).

All these are new appointment.

The three reappointments are Hussaini Pai (FCT), Alhaji Ahmad Makama (Bauchi) and Sadiq Musa (Kaduna).