Igbinedion varsity donates borehole to Edo community

Igbinedion varsity donates borehole to Edo community

According to reports, the Vice Chancellor of Igbinedion University, Rev. Professor Eghosa Osaghae, has commissioned a multi-million naira water borehole constructed by Igbinedion University for the Okada community.

Speaking at the commissioning ceremony, the vice chancellor listed a number of projects undertaken by the university for the Okada community since it began the annual community service programme three years ago.

Professor Osaghae noted that the university instituted the community service programme in order to bridge the gap between it and the Okada community.

He disclosed that university’s entrepreneurship centre trains youths in different vocations including, tailoring, bag-making, technological inventions, building, driving, desk-top publishing, fashion and many other crafts, stressing that the university would give rebate to Okada youths who may wish to undergo training in any of the available skills in the University’s Centre for Entrepreneurship.

According to him, Igbinedion University runs part-time programmes in several courses with highly affordable fees, which he enjoined Okada indigenes to avail themselves of the opportunity.

Also speaking, the Chief Medical Director (CMD) of the Igbinedion University Teaching Hospital, Prof. Awe told the elders of the community that the teaching hospital has competent and specialist doctors in different fields of medical practice, who are available 24 hours daily to take care of patients.

He enjoined them to advise members of the community to stop patronising quacks, stressing that IUTH was even disposed to treat people free when they obviously do not have money for their treatment.

Prof. Osaghae later cut the tape to commission the project.

Responding on behalf of the Odionwere of Okada community, Mr. G. E. Idehen thanked the university for the gesture. He pledged that the community would work hard to protect the borehole and the accessories.

Other principal officers of the university present at the ceremony included, the Deputy Vice Chancellor, Professor Charity Emaviwe; the Registrar, Mr. Edwin Okoro; the Bursar, Mr. Nosa Edogiawerie and the University Librarian, Mr. Yakubu Izevbekhai.



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.