Buhari appoints Emeifele, Ambode, others as members of food security council

President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed Godwin Emefiele, governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN); Boss Mustapha, secretary to the government of the federation (SGF); Abba Kyari, chief of staff to the president; and Babagan Monguno, national security adviser (NSA) as members of the National Food Security Council.

Related image

The council chaired by the president will be inaugurated on Monday.

It will seek solutions to the farmers–herdsmen clashes, climate change and desertification and its impact on farmland, grazing areas and lakes, rivers and other water bodies, oil spillage and its impact on Niger Delta fishing communities, piracy and banditry, agricultural research institutions and extension services and the problem of smuggling.

Other members of the council are AKinwunmi Ambode, governor of Lagos; Abubakar Bagudu, governor of Kebbi; Darius Ishaku, governor of Taraba; Simon Lalong; governor of Plateau; David Umahi, governor of Ebonyi and Ifeanyi Okowa, governor of Delta.

Audu Ogbeh, minister of agriculture; Kemi Adeosun, minister of finance; Abdulrahman Dambazau, minister of interior; Okechukwu Enelemah, minster of industry, trade and investment; Suleiman Hussein Adamu, minister of water resources; Ibrahim Jibril, minister of environment; and Udoma Udoma, minister of budget and planning are also members.



  1. Another fruitless appointment – people that have not been able to provide food security for the Thousands of IDPs and impoverished Nigerians are appointing themselves to solve NATIONAL food security…..Cry my beloved country.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.