Just In: Kano Assembly impeaches Speaker

Members of Kano state House of Assembly on Monday impeached Alhaji Abdullahi Yusif Attah Fagge and replaced him with the former speaker Alhaji Kabiru Al hassan Rurum.

Kano Assembly impeaches Speaker Abdullahi Atta

The move followed a motion filed in by member representing Warawa constituency Alhaji Labaran Abdul madari, which was seconded by a member representing Tudun wada constituency Abdullahi Yaryasa accusing Abdullahi Atah Fagge of corruption and not carrying the members of the house along.

The deputy speaker was replaced by the former deputy speaker Alhaji Hamisu Ibrahim chidari member representing makoda constituency, the majority leader Mohammad Bello Butu Butu was replaced by BAFFA BABBA Dan agundi and ALHAJI Ayuba Labaran member representing Kabo emerges as the new majority whip.

Also Alhaji Labaran Abdul madari has emerged as the new chief whip,while Kabiru Hassan Dashi is the new deputy majority leader.

Twenty seven members out of the fourty signed the approval of the impeachment of Abdullahi Atah Fagge.

In his acceptance speach Alhaji Kabiru Rurum pledged to be dedicated in the discharge of his duty and promised to carry all members along.

It could be recalled that two months ago, there was attempt to impeach Ata by a group led by Rurum, but he (Atah), survive it, following the intervention of Governor Abdullahi umar Ganduje.



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.