We can’t cancel any announced result – REC

It was revealed that the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC Resident Electoral Commissioner, REC for Anambra State, Mr. Edwin Nwatarali insisted yesterday that the Commission has no powers to cancel any election result announced by INEC returning officer, saying those who felt aggrieved over the outcome of the national assembly election in Anambra State should pursue their matter at the election petition tribunal.

Nwatarali, who spoke during the handing over of certificate of return to the senators and nine House of Representatives –elect who were declared winners in the March 28, 2015 general elections, said he has been receiving incessant telephone calls since the announcement of the results, with some of those making the calls threatening him.

He said: “If anybody has any complaint against the election, he or she should go to the tribunal. It is not in the interest of INEC to cancel any election and I do not even have powers to alter any result that has been declared by the returning officer.

“INEC is always ready to obey court orders one it receives such an order and people should therefore not pressurize the commission to do what it has no powers to do.”

Also speaking, the INEC national commissioner in charge of Anambra, Enugu and Imo states, Chief Lawrence Nwuruku advised those who lost to realize that power comes from God.

According to him, people should not kill because they did not win election, urging politicians to always take politics as sports which one can either win or lose.

Those who collected their certificates of return yesterday include Senator Andy Uba for Anambra South, Mrs. Uche Ekwunife for Anambra Central and Mrs. Stella Oduah for Anambra North.

Those for the House of Representatives were Peter Madubueze (Anambra East and West), Gabriel Onyenweife (Ayamelum/Oyi), Anayo Nnebe (Awka North and South), Eucharia Azodo (Aguata), Emeka Iduu (Onitsha North/South), Chuu Onyema (Ogbaru) and Obinna Chidoka (Idemili North and South), Emeka Anohu (Ihiala) and Chris Azubogu (Nnewi North and South/Ekwusigo).

The house of Representative –elect for Anaocha/Njikoka/Dunukofia, Dr. Okey Eze was not present, while that of Orumba North and South is under litigation.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.