Sokoto House of Assembly majority leader resigns

The House Leader, Sokoto State House of Assembly, Alhaji Aliyu Abubakar (APC-Tureta), has resigned from the assembly.

This is sequel to his recent election as the Chairman of Tureta Local Government Council of the state under the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

[pro_ad_display_adzone id=”60438″]

Abubakar on Wednesday tendered his formal letter of resignation from the Assembly to the Speaker.

“The decision comes as a result of series of consultations with all the relevant stakeholders from my constituency, following my election as Chairman, Tureta Local Government Council,” he said in the letter.

Abubakar thanked all his colleagues, the management and staff, people of Tureta local government area and the state in general, for their support during his tenure in the legislature.

Meanwhile, the House has adopted its sitting calendar for the second session of the 8th Assembly in the state.

This followed a motion moved on Wednesday by the Deputy House Leader, Alhaji Kabiru Ibrahim (APC-Kware), and seconded by Alhaji Abdullahi Zakari (APC- Rabah).

Ibrahim said: “That, in view of the provision of Section 104 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended, a House of Assembly shall sit for a period of not less than 181 days in a year.

“In pursuant of this provision therefore, this House do adopt its sitting calendar commencing from June 8, 2016, to May 26, 2017, totalling 193 days end of second session, Eight Assembly”.

He added that the session should start by the first quarter from June 8 to Aug. 25.

He explained that the June 16 to July 12, adjournment was to enable members perform the lesser Hajj and Eid-el-Fitr celebration.

The new calendar also said the House would go on a recess between Aug. 26 and Sept. 28, to mark end of the first quarter.

“The second quarter is from September 29, to December 22, 2016, with a recess from December 23, 2016, to January 3, 2017, end of second quarter second session, to enable the members celebrate new year.

“That, the third quarter to begin from January 4, to March 2, 2017, with a recess from March 3, to April 11, 2017, end of third quarter second session, to allow the members to visit their constituencies.

“Moreover, the fourth quarter starts from April 12, to May 25, 2017, with a recess from May 26, to June 7, 2017, end of fourth quarter second session of the 8th Assembly, to enable members to celebrate Democracy Day,” Ibrahim, stated.

Ruling on the motion, the Speaker, Alhaji Salihu Maidaji, said “the House do adopt the House sitting calendar of the 8th Assembly, second session from June 8, 2016 to May 26, 2017″.



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.