Today's Trending

Oyo Assembly swears in Labour Party’s Lukman Balogun

The newly elected member representing Oorelope constituency in the Oyo State House of Assembly, Mr Balogun Lukman, was on Tuesday sworn in.


The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the house suspended its recess to also commence the process of approving the creation of 35 Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) in the state.

[pro_ad_display_adzone id=”60438″]

Balogun had emerged following the Aug. 20 by-election to fill the vacant seat of the late Mr Gideon Aremu who was killed by hoodlums in Ibadan.

Balogun, a former caretaker Committee Chairman of Oorelope Local Government Area, was declared winner of the election after he polled 6,122 votes.

Candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Jimoh Gbadamosi, polled 4,148 votes, while candidate of the Accord Party, Solomon Olabisi, polled 2,123 votes.

The new lawmaker, after swearing to an oath of office administered by the Assembly’s Speaker, Hon. Michael Adeyemo, pledged his commitment to the development of his constituency and the state.

“All I believe is that God Almighty, who has given me the opportunity to be sworn in as member of this House of Assembly, will direct me accordingly.

“I will continue from where my predecessor stopped and will contribute my quota positively to the development of my constituency and the state at large,” he said.

The assembly also passed the bill for the further amendment of the Local Government Law, 2002, to allow for the creation of 35 local council development areas to the House Committee on Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters.

Mr Ganiyu Oseni of Irepo/Olorunsogo constituency, however, decried the “injustice” in the distribution of LCDAs to zones.

According to him, the allocation of 11 LCDAs to Ibadan zone was unfair when compared to the number allocated to other zones in the state.

Similarly, Mr Muideen Olagunju of Oyo East/Oyo West Constituency drew attention to the dissatisfaction of persons yearning for more LCDAs allocation to their zones.

Mr Fatai Adesina, representing Ibadan South-East 1 Constituency and Gbenga Oyekola of Atiba expressed concerns about the funding of the new LCDAs if the existing 33 local government areas were facing the challenge of paucity of funds.

8 Comments on Oyo Assembly swears in Labour Party’s Lukman Balogun

  1. Congrats to him


  2. Good for him


  3. The man dey lucky oooooooo


  4. Congratulation oooooo


  5. Thank for his new position


  6. All the best in his office


  7. Adesanya ifeoluwa // September 7, 2016 at 11:02 am // Reply

    steal ur own and go


  8. lol…people dey vex seriously whats the essence of having them????


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: