Today's Trending

INEC releases names of candidates for Lagos bye-election

It was gathered that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has released names of candidates and political parties participating in the December 3 bye-election into Ifako-Ijaiye Federal Constituency of Lagos State.


The participating candidates and political parties were released by the national headquarters of INEC in Abuja on Tuesday.

They are Yusuf Olawale Fatai (Action Alliance, AA); Adebayo Michael Akanbi (Alliance for Democracy, AD); Olugbenga Olusegun Owolabi (Advanced Democratic Congress, ADC); Akinwunmi Nurudeen Olaitan (All Progressives Congress, APC); Babatunde Babatope Akinyele (Peoples Democratic Party, PDP) and Ajiboye Femi Olorunshomi (Social Democratic Party, SDP).

The former occupant of the seat, Elijah Adewale, died on July 20.

Meanwhile, INEC on Tuesday completed training of Supervising Presiding Officers (SPOs) who are expected to train other categories of staff to be used for the election.

A team from the commission’s headquarters led by Director, Planning and Monitoring, Mr.Okechukwu Ndeche had also visited Lagos to assess the level of preparedness for the bye-election.

1 Comment on INEC releases names of candidates for Lagos bye-election

  1. Good luck to him anyway


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: