Xavi: Cristiano Ronaldo doesn’t deserve Ballon d’Or

Xavi thinks the Ballon d’Or should have gone to Lionel Messi over Cristiano Ronaldo, suggesting that the Real Madrid man’s trophy haul clouded the judgement of voters.

Ronaldo was the overwhelming winner of the prestigious prize, which is voted for by 173 international journalists.

It followed a year in which he lifted the Champions League and then helped guide Portugal to victory at Euro 2016.

Despite his remarkable year, Xavi believes his former Barcelona team-mate Messi was a more deserving recipient.

‘They counted the major trophies but there are other years in which they didn’t use that to award the best player in the world,’ he told TV3 . ‘Leo Messi is the best despite the trophies that someone else might have won.’

Ballon d’Or winners

2007: Kaka

2008: Ronaldo

2009: Messi

2010: Messi

2011: Messi

2012: Messi

2013: Ronaldo

2014: Ronaldo

2015: Messi

2016: Ronaldo

It’s not the first time Xavi has waded into the whole Messi v Ronaldo debate. The World Cup winner once said that Messi is the best player in the world ‘for anyone who likes football’. It led Ronaldo to retort: ‘Everyone knows that anyone who wants to make the front pages has to talk about me. Xavi has not won a single Ballon d’Or. I have won three.’

Well, now Ronaldo has won four. It’s still one less than Messi though.


1 Comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.