The Prestigious GLOCAF Awards 2016 …. See Full List

GLOCAF Awards, which is the Silver Jubilee edition, was held on the 5th January 2016 at the international  Conference Center, Abuja, Nigeria.

The award ceremony which had Mimi Fawaz , Premium show host and presenter of Sports 360 on Vox Africa, and the prolific Nigerian actor Richard Mofe-Damijo as its MCs’ had glamour as awards were given to different categories that included both the men and female football.

These are the winners in the  various categories:

African Player of the Year

  1. Riyad MAHREZ (Algeria & Leicester City) – 361 votes
  2. Pierre-Emerick AUBAMEYANG (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund) – 313 votes
  3. Sadio MANE (Senegal & Liverpool) – 186 votes

 African Player of the Year – Based in Africa

  1. Denis ONYANGO (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns) – 252 votes
  2. Khama BILLIAT (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns) – 228 votes
  3. Rainford KALABA (Zambia & TP Mazembe) – 206 votes

 Women’s player of the Year

Asisat OSHOALA (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)

 Most Promising Talent

Kelechi IHEANACHO (Nigeria & Manchester City)

 Youth Player of the Year

Alex IWOBI (Nigeria and Arsenal)

 Coach of the Year

Pitso MOSIMANE (Mamelodi Sundowns)

 Club of the Year

Mamelodi Sundowns

 National Team of the Year                                                    


 Women’s National Team of the Year


 Referee of the Year

Bakary Papa GASSAMA (Gambia)     

 Football Leader of the Year

Manuel LOPES NASCIMENTO, President of Guinea Bissau Football Federation

 Legend Award

Laurent POKOU – Former player of Cote d’Ivoire

Emilienne MBANGO – Former player of Cameroon

 Platinum Award

His Excellency Muhammadu Buhari, President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria

Africa Finest XI

Goalkeeper: Denis ONYANGO (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Defenders: Serge AURIER (Cote d’Ivoire & Paris Saint-Germain), Aymen ABDENNOUR (Tunisia & Valencia), Eric BAILLY (Cote d’Ivoire & Manchester United), Joyce LOMALISA (DR Congo & AS Vita)

Midfielders: Khama BILLIAT (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns), Rainford KALABA (Zambia & TP Mazembe), Keegan DOLLY (South Africa & Mamelodi Sundowns),

Forwards: Pierre-Emerick AUBAMEYANG (Gabon & Borussia Dortmund), Sadio MANE (Senegal & Liverpool), Riyad MAHREZ (Algeria & Leicester City)



Aymen MATHLOUTHI (Tunisia & Etoile du Sahel), Kalidou KOULIBALY (Senegal & Napoli), Salif COULIBALY (Mali & TP Mazembe), Islam SLIMANI (Algeria & Leicester City), Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Roma), Kelechi IHEANACHO (Nigeria & Manchester City), Alex IWOBI (Nigeria and Arsenal)

History was made as Mayhrez,25,became the first Algerian and the maiden North African to win the prestigious individual accolade in African football since the inception by the confederation Africaine de Football(CAF) in 1992.

He did beat the Gabon player Pierre-Emerick Aubemeyang, who came second and the third place winner,Saido Mane of Senegal.



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.