Yakubu Dogara wins Reps seat for record 4th time

Yakubu Dogara, speaker of the house of representatives, has been announced winner of the election in Bogoro/Dass/Tafawa Balewa federal constituency of Bauchi state.

Related image

Dogara, who contested the election on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), polled 73,609 votes to defeat Dalhatu Kantana, of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who scored 50,078.

Responding to his victory, Dogara thanked his constituents for standing by him. He also thanked God “for making it possible”.

“I dedicate this victory to God first and our ever peace loving & resilient people of Bogoro/Dass/Tafawa Balewa Federal Constituency who defied all odds to return me to the House of Representatives for an unprecedented 4th term,” he said in a statement.

“By their uncommon courage, sacrifice and patience in the face of unwarranted provocation, threat & intimidation & attempts to subvert their will by undemocratic forces, they have made history today in Nigeria by breaking a jinx that has plagued the House of Representatives since 1st Assembly as no presiding officer (both Speaker & Deputy Speaker) has ever been re-elected to the House.

“Bogoro/Dass/Tafawa Balewa has also set a record as the first in Bauchi state to return a member to the House of Representatives for fourth consecutive term. Thanks to many friends and supporters who contributed immensely in making this history possible. Together we shall continue to defy evil and make Nigeria work again.”


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.